Quick Stock Take #1

Introducing.png

Aye!

A girl survived that Aries full moon. When I tell you life went left in the last week!

…But anyway, I’m here, with a cop-out, stock taking post. Lol.

Seriously though, I decided to do one of these for perspective sake and also to shikilia the blog as life settles again. Normal transmission will resume shortly…

Making: Easy chicken butter from Buzzfeed’s tasty channel. I am a glutton foodie, but the truth is I don’t love cooking on account of being the eldest child and only girl in a pretty traditional family. Cooking was a chore forced on to me and so I never saw it as fun. However, an adult must feed herself so I’m trying to change my feelings about cooking by making easy, delicious meals for myself. Been meaning to try this Butter chicken recipe because it looks good, so I’m gonna make it tonight. Will share results on the IG.

Drinking: A lot more wine than usual. I’m mostly a beer girl, but after having a really good sweet malbec at Kawira’s house a few months ago, there’s been a lot more rose and sweet reds in my life. Fancy-drunk is life doe.

whatsapp-image-2016-10-27-at-13-30-42
Ignore the tea

Reading: Yaa Gyasi’s “Homegoing”. It wasn’t on my October TBR but I didn’t get two of the books I had selected. So far I’m loving it. It’s one of those multi-generational family stories which are a favourite of mine (Zadie Smith’s “White Teeth” is in my top 5). Full review will be in the October reads wrap up, very soon.

WhatsApp Image 2016-10-27 at 13.30.42 (1).jpeg

Wanting: $$$$$ Always! Lol. But seriously, I have been wanting to manage my anxiety better because it’s been messing with my sleeps and NOTHING MESSES WITH MY SLEEPS. Been experiencing sleep maintenance insomnia which is when you stir and wake in the middle of the night and your brain goes all “Now that you are up, here are a list of ALL your problems. Solve them now, at 3:16 AM. Lol”

As you can imagine, this is not ideal for, I don’t know, life, so I have scoured the internet and gotten some solutions. Turns out it’s the typical “good-for-you” stuff: exercise, clean eating, regular sleep times and giving less of a damn. Happy to report that it’s been three days of living the healthy life and last night I slept through the night like a normal person. Yay.

Playing: the MOR network on Youtube. I particularly like their electronica channel.

Wasting: Nail polish by chipping at it almost immediately after it dries. I wonder why I bother sometimes.

Creating: Cute little intros for my youtube videos on this nifty, free app I found called quik.

Wishing: I could get all the $$$$$$. I’m broke guys, can you tell? Lol

Enjoying: Getting lost in reddit holes, like these ones.

Loving: My goddamn baby. Hey boo. 😉

Hoping: for some $$$$$$$. Guys, it’s bad.

Marveling: at how accurate my horoscope has been since that Aries full moon. Astrology is really fascinating to me lately.

Smelling: The rain…which I love but it’s almost home time. Woi.

Wearing: A gold-plated diamante ring that my mama gave me. I need some quality mama-daughter time soon.

WhatsApp Image 2016-10-27 at 13.30.42 (2).jpeg

 

Following: Issa Rae’s new show on HBO “Insecure”. On episode 3 and you know, it’s growing on me. Also BLACK-MIRROR! That one deserves a whole post on its own.

Noticing: The whole writing things down and they’ll come true thing might be true. Just yesterday I tweeted “need money” and today I got some dividends in my M-Pesa. Won’t mother universe do it? Hallelu.

Knowing: …is better than learning. ~DJ Khaled~

Feeling: outraged (albeit impotently) about the KES.5 Billion that’s just “gone missing” from the Ministry of Health. It’s enough with the unaccountability. I’m team #TAXSTRIKE

Bookmarking: The beheld, which is a fantastic beauty politics blog by Autumn Whitefield-Madrano. It was recommended by a friend when I was doing research for the first issue of Fibre of her Fabric, a womanist magazine that I edit. She’s funny and incredibly smart as she unpacks the ideas and implications of beauty standards.

Giggling: at this…

cvo0m5ixeaeig7j

Feeling: Hopeful, which is all one can ask for really. We gon’ be alright! Hugs, friends.

B.

Leave a Reply

